Email 
Guide
Semester
Subject
Student Name
Ojaswi Chauthaiwale, Shubhangi Madavi , Ridhima Mahadik , Divyy Nishar, Jeel Patel, Vighnesh Penikal, Ruchira Rathod, Falguni Sakpal, Hiloni Sheth, Dipalee Suslade, Aditya Vaidya, Priyal Vasaiwala
Allied Design - Urban design
IX
Ar. Kokila Deshpande
ojaswic17@aoamumbai.in, shubhangim17@aoamumbai.in, ridhimam17@aoamumbai.in, divyyn17@aoamumbai.in, jeelp17@aoamumbai.in, vighneshp17@aoamumbai.in, ruchirar17@aoamumbai.in, falgunis17@aoamumbai.in, hilonis17@aoamumbai.in, dipalees17@aoamumbai.in, adityav17@aoamumbai.in, priyalv17@aoamumbai.in
Studio Conductors
Ar. Shekoba Sanap
Ar. Sahil Kanekar
Ar. Kokila Deshpande
Ar. Richa Raut
Ar. Omkar Nandlaskar

:

:

:

:

:

:

:

:

:

:

:

Unplanned development, change of natural course of water from Yeoor hills to the Thane creek and filling of lakes led to flooding issues. More than 61 spots in the city, including posh residential complexes, get submerged in rainwater when heavy rainfall pounds the city. Another reason is the faulty drainage system. The areas around lakes are filled with encroachments and the boundaries are concretised, leaving no space for water seepage.

At the Thane Creek, the mangroves help create a unique ecosystem, of various species from tiny crabs to tall flamingos, which, unfortunately, is facing serious threats due to solid waste dumping, reclamation, cutting for aquaculture ponds, etc. Recent industrial and domestic activities by slums and high pollution have compromised the fisheries, oyster beds, mangroves and migratory birds in Thane creek.

The identification of the issue was achieved at the site. The city comes under a low-lying area and is prone to cyclones, coastal flooding and waterlogging. The root cause is a poor waste management system. Most of the citizens, private bodies and industries that have developed along the creek, dump their waste and deposit the debris at its very edge. A large amount of industrial and domestic waste is released into the creek without treating it. The drainage has been harmed as a result of the concretization and because of the shift in land slope, drainage lines are now fragmented. This then causes siltation and shrinking, reducing the water holding capacity of the creek, which results in flooding and affects the ecological balance of the creek.

The project is about addressing and analysing the fundamental cause of creek-related concerns and formulating the best strategies for resolving the issues. Certain Urban design interventions and urban policies have been suggested for the same. In order to provide solutions, the journey of water was traced back from its final destination to the source. Accordingly, suitable long-term solutions have been identified to cater to the issues at a city level and certain strategies have been suggested as seen in the video.

Thane Creek

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • issuu icon
  • AOA grey
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • issuu icon
  • AOA grey